Duty Rates Increase for Imports from Several GPT Countries January 1, 2015

16 Oct, 2014 & Posted by : Admin

Effective January 1, 2015, the Canadian Government intends to withdraw eligibility to the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) from 72 higher-income and trade competitive countries (out of current 175 beneficiaries), including China, South Korea, India and Brazil. Of the 72 countries affected by this change 20 have preferential tariff with Canada though other trade agreements.

Entitlement to the benefit of the General Preferential Tariff is withdrawn in respect of all goods that originate in the following countries, effective January 1, 2015.

List of Countries Affected:

“Algeria”, “American Samoa”, “Antigua and Barbuda”, “Antilles, Netherlands”, “Argentina”, “Azerbaijan”, “Bahamas”, “Bahrain”, “Barbados”, “Bermuda”, “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Botswana”, “Brazil”, “Brunei”, “Cayman Islands”, “Chile”, “China”, “Colombia”, “Costa Rica”, “Croatia”, “Cuba”, “Dominica”, “Dominican Republic”, “Ecuador”, “Equatorial Guinea”, “French Polynesia”, “Gabon”, “Gibraltar”, “Grenada”, “Guam”, “Hong Kong”, “India”, “Indonesia”, “Iran”, “Israel”, “Jamaica”, “Jordan”, “Kazakhstan”, “Kuwait”, “Lebanon”, “Macao”, “Macedonia”, “Malaysia”, “Maldives”, “Mariana Islands”, “Mauritius”, “Mexico”, “Namibia”, “New Caledonia and Dependencies”, “Oman”, “Palau”, “Panama”, “Peru”, “Qatar”, “Russia”, “Saint Kitts and Nevis”, “Saint Lucia”, “Saint Vincent and the Grenadines”, “Seychelles”, “Singapore”, “South Africa”, “South Korea”, “Suriname”, “Thailand”, “Trinidad and Tobago”, “Tunisia”, “Turkey”, “Turks and Caicos Islands”, “United Arab Emirates”, “Uruguay”, “Venezuela” and “Virgin Islands, U.S.A.”

Least Developed Country Tariff (LDCT):

Entitlement to the benefit of the Least Developed Country Tariff is withdrawn effective January 1, 2015 in respect of all goods that originate in Equatorial Guinea and Maldives.